Jay Horne’s To Love a Monster

Jay Horne
4 min readAug 6, 2023

What we really want from the world

Man and Monster Shaking Hands
Image Produced with Dall-e and Edited by the Author

I have been doing a lot of thinking since I was little.

Sometimes, I do my thinking after I read a great book.

Sometimes, after I lose a loved one to circumstance or death, I think.

Other times, I do my thinking from a jail cell.

I once did my thinking in the cold waves of Coronado bay, out off the coast of San Diego, California, while I trained for the Navy Seals in bud/s class 243.

I’ve thought for three whole days as I drove from the Atlantic to the Pacific on both herbal and alchemical stimulation.

I thought deeply at a bar in Washington, D.C. after I met Congressman David Jolly and was pinned with the Star of Life.

I thought long and hard during the thirteenth mile of a half marathon, just as the sun came up over the horizon.

Then again, I did my thinking while walking the railing atop the Skyway bridge in Bradenton, FL. That, of course, had me do a little thinking in the Indian Rocks Mental Hospital for a week or so.

Over the past few years, I still happen to think a lot. I’ve read that the purpose of thinking is to eventually abolish thinking altogether.

--

--

Jay Horne

Jay has been publishing for 12 years but was writing creatively since just a tike. His writing has matured but most of it is immature like Terry Pratchett's.